Sports Hall of Fame

On Saturday 6th July Waitaki Boys' held a black tie dinner to induct the first 14 sportsmen into the Inaugral Waitaki Boys' High School Sports Hall of Fame

This fantastic concept has been the brainchild of our Sports Advisory Council who have worked incredibly hard over the last eighteen months to make this event happen. To those most heavily involved – Roly Senior, Leigh Petrie, Greg Wilson, Blair Selfe, Nic Ruddenklau and Murray Hayes – the school is indebted to you all. Thank you very much.

On a personal level, I have been lucky enough over the past few weeks to undertake the research for the inductee’s citations which follow. Reading the “Waitakian” magazines from the turn of the twentieth century to those of the early twenty first century has been an enlightening experience and given me a far greater appreciation for the incredible history of our school. I have no doubt those stories will come to life this evening.

To the inductees present and to those who have been unable to make it, congratulations on this honour of being inducted into the inaugural Waitaki Boys’ Sports Hall of Fame. To receive this honour from the tens of thousands of young men who have attended our school over the past one hundred and thirty six years is an incredible achievement. Well done.

Floreat Waitakia

Darryl Paterson


Each fortnight over the next while, a historians corner will be a part of our newsletter - for the next few weeks we will be focussing on our 14 inductees, as these happen we will put the links here.

Hall of Fame Inductees 

Gerald Keddell
Athol Hudson
PGZ "Zin" Harris
John ( Jack) Sutherland
Russell (Rusty) Robertson
William (Bill) Smedley
George Paterson
Keith Heselwood
Winston Stephens
Gary Robertson
Ian Hurst
Scott Anderson
Emmett Gradwell
Dylan Kennett